HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) – Gov. Dannel P. Malloy says federal disaster recovery centers will open Thursday in each of Connecticut’s eight counties, with two in New Haven County.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency centers will help home owners and businesses affected by Tropical Storm Irene. Malloy urged affected individuals and businesses Wednesday to visit a center and find out if they are eligible for benefits.

The disaster recovery centers will open at noon Thursday and will then be open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Sunday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

State officials say residents who have already provided damage information to their towns, federal or state officials must still register with FEMA.

The Connecticut DRC locations include:


Fairfield County

Western Greenwich Civic Center

449 Pemberwick Road

Greenwich, CT


Hartford County

Tunxis Community College

271 Scott Swamp Road

Farmington, CT


Litchfield County

Torrington Fire Headquarters

111 Water Street

Torrington, CT


Middlesex County

Department of Police Services

6 Custom Drive

Old Saybrook, CT


New Haven County

Gateway Community College

88 Bassett Road

North Haven, CT


High Plains Community Center

525 Orange Center Road

Orange, CT


New London County

Groton Senior Center

102 Newtown Road

Groton, CT

Tolland County

Community Center

10 South Eagleville Road

Storrs-Mansfield, CT 06268


Windham County

Quinebaug Valley Community College

742 Upper Maple St

Danielson, CT
     (Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s