By PAUL J. WEBER,  Associated Press

SAN ANTONIO (AP) _ Katie Douglas hit the go-ahead 3-pointer with
56.7 seconds left, and the East All-Stars hung on to beat the West
118-113 on Saturday in one of the closest WNBA midseason showcases

Cappie Pondexter led the East with 17 points, and Douglas and
Tina Charles added 15 apiece. It was only the third All-Star game
victory for the East in 10 tries.

Swin Cash led the West with 21 points and 12 rebounds and was
named MVP for the second time. Former WNBA star Lisa Leslie is the
only other player with multiple All-Star MVP awards.

It may have been the WNBA’s last All-Star game until 2013. Next
summer is the 2012 Olympics, and the league may cancel the game
while its biggest names play for the U.S. national team.

     (Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)

SAN ANTONIO (AP) _ Lisa Leslie, Cynthia Cooper and Diana Taurasi
lead the list selected as the WNBA’s Top 15 players of all time.

The selections, announced Saturday during halftime of the
All-Star game, also include Seattle’s Sue Bird, Lauren Jackson and
Katie Smith; Los Angeles’ Tina Thompson and Ticha Penicheiro;
Indiana’s Tamika Catchings; New York’s Cappie Pondexter; San
Antonio’s Becky Hammon; Tulsa’s Sheryl Swoopes; and retired greats
Dawn Staley, Yolanda Griffith and Teresa Weatherspoon.

“This list of 15 players is composed of exciting and dominating
players from start to finish and highlighted by players of all
kinds– scorers, playmakers, ballhandlers, rebounders, defensive
wizards, leaders, and players who have brought out the best in
their teammates,” WNBA chief of basketball operations and player
relations Renee Brown, who has been an executive with the league
since its inception, said in a statement.

The players were picked in balloting by fans, select national
media, as well as current players and coaches.

Bird, Catchings, Cooper, Griffith, Jackson, Leslie, Smith,
Staley, Swoopes and Thompson were also voted to the league’s
All-Decade team five years ago.

Catchings, Hammon, Staley and Weatherspoon are only players in
the group not to have won a WNBA championship.

“To be voted as one of the Top 15 players of all time leaves me
speechless,” Weatherspoon said. “I have an overwhelming feeling
of joy and appreciation. It tells me my hard work didn’t go
unnoticed, and to be voted in by the fans makes it even more
special to me.”

     (Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live