Weather advisory: The National Weather Service has posted a Winter Storm Watch for parts of the state Sunday afternoon through Monday morning. Read More


Auriemma Naismith Award Finalist

View Comments
Geno Auriemma (Harry How, Getty Images Sport)

Geno Auriemma (Harry How, Getty Images Sport)

HARTFORD (CBS Connecticut) — UConn Women’s Basketball Coach Geno Auriemma is one of four finalists named today for the 2014 Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year Award.  The finalists were announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The other finalists are Muffet McGraw of Notre Dame,  Wes Moore of North Carolina State and Dawn Staley of South Carolina.  UConn, Notre Dame and South Carolina are all number one seeds in their regions in the upcoming NCAA Tournament.  North Carolina State is ranked fifth in the Lincoln regional,  the sane region as UConn.

Auriemma,  who is this year’s AAC Coach of the Year, has won the Naismith Award six times as he led the Huskies to eight national chamnpionships.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,408 other followers