BOSTON (AP) _ President Barack Obama has named six teachers from southern New England among 102 recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The White House announced on Friday that a panel of scientists, mathematicians and educations chose the winners following an initial selection process done in their states.

The recipients receive $10,000 each from the National Science Foundation. They’ll also travel to Washington, D.C., next year for the awards ceremony and other events.

The Massachusetts winners are science teacher Erin Dukeshire of Boston’s neighborhood of Roxbury and math instructor Jessica Findlay of Douglas.

Rhode Island’s recipients are math teacher Regina Kilday of Exeter and science educator Clare Ornburn of Ashway.

In Connecticut, the winners are science instructor Mary Servino of Bridgeport and math teacher Maren Sussman of Ellington.

(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live