Florida State’s Winston Wins Walter Camp Award

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (AP) _ Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston has been
selected as the Walter Camp player of the year.

The redshirt freshman is the second player from Florida State to win the award,
joining quarterback Charlie Ward in 1993. Winston also is the favorite to win
the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

The other finalists were Texas quarterback Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois
quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Boston College
running back Andre Williams.

Winston has set FBS freshman records for yards passing (3,820) and touchdown
passes (38), leading No. 2 Florida State (13-0) to the BCS championship game
against No. 2 Auburn. His 190.6 passer efficiency rating is tops in the country
and on pace to set an NCAA record.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o won the Walter Camp last year.

(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


More From CBS Connecticut

Win Red Sox Tickets All Season
Price Chopper Supermarkets Presents Retail Food Rescue Program

Listen Live