UConn’s New Conference: American Athletic Conference

UConn will be playing in the “American Athletic Conference” after the current sports seasons wrap up.  Commissioner Mike Aresco announced that the current Big East will re-brand itself as a result of a unanimous vote by the conference Board of Directors today.

Besides UConn, schools in the AAC starting with the 2014-2015 academic year will  be the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, East Carolina University, the University of Houston, the University of Memphis, Southern Methodist University, the University of South Florida, Temple University, Tulane University and the University of Tulsa.

For the 2013-2014 season Rutgers, Louisville, Connecticut, South Florida, Cincinnati, Central Florida, Memphis, Houston, SMU and Temple will be members,  with Rutgers and Louisville leaving after 2013 and Tulane, East Carolina and Tulsa added in 2014. The Naval Academy will become a football-only member in 2015

Aresco says in all the talks about a new name,  versions including the word “American” topped the list.  He says it’s a nod to tradition,  while showing the conference’s determination to have “national impact and appeal.”


More From CBS Connecticut

Celebrate Memorial Day
Win Dinner For Two at Saint George Greek Festival

Listen Live