CBS: Reports of a shooting at a high school outside of Seattle, WA. Read More

Sports

UConn Releases 2012 Football Schedule

View Comments
UConn Football, 11-26-11 Kashif Moore (Elsa/Getty Images Sport)

UConn Football, 11-26-11 Kashif Moore (Elsa/Getty Images Sport)

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

The University of Connecticut has released its 2012 football schedule.  The season opens with two home games,  UMass on August 30th,  followed by North Carolina State of the ACC on September 8.

The Huskies have not played the UMass Minutemen since 1999,  but the rivalry dates back to 1897.   It will be Massachusetts’ first year as a member of the Mid-American Conference.

After UMass and NC State,  other UConn home games for Rentschler Field’s tenth anniversary season,  will be Buffalo, Temple, Pitt and Cincinnati.

On the road,  the Huskies visit Maryland, Western Michigan, Rutgers,  Syracuse, USF and Louisville. The Maryland game September 15 will be against former UConn Coach Randy Edsall’s Terrapins. Homecoming will be October 13,  as UConn hosts Big East newcomer Temple.

Schedule:

Thursday, Aug. 30 Massachusetts at Rentschler
Saturday, Sept. 8 North Carolina State at Rentschler
Saturday, Sept. 15 at Maryland
Saturday, Sept. 22 at Western Michigan
Saturday, Sept. 29 Buffalo at Rentschler
Saturday, Oct. 6 at Rutgers
Saturday, Oct. 13 Temple at Rentschler (Homecoming)
Friday, Oct. 19 at Syracuse 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 3 at USF
Friday, Nov. 9 Pittsburgh 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 24 at Louisville
Saturday, Dec. 1 Cincinnati

Except for the October 19 game at Syracuse,  and the Pitt game at Rentschler November 9,  kickoff times have not been set.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 845 other followers