President Declares Federal Disaster Across State

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) _ President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in seven Connecticut counties after record-breaking back-to-back storms dumped more than two feet of snow and destroyed dozens of buildings.

Obama’s decision was announced Thursday night. It makes money available on a cost-sharing basis to reimburse counties, towns, state agencies and nonprofit groups that dealt with the Jan. 11-12 storms.

Counties eligible for assistance include Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, New Haven, New London and Tolland, together with the Tribal Lands of the Mashantucket Pequot and the Mohegan Tribal Nations, located in New London County.

Federal aid will cover emergency protective measures in those counties and hazard mitigation measures statewide.

On Feb. 22, Gov. Dannel P. Malloy asked Obama to declare a federal disaster, saying expenses and snowfall amounts met thresholds established by federal and state emergency officials.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

  • Paul Armstrong

    What about Middlesex Copunty

    • WTIC News

      Was not originally listed in the AP release

  • Neil & Bob

    We agree with Oral. A disaster is a tornado, earthquake, or a ctegory 3 hurricane. Snow is not a disaster if you plan ahead and are ready for it. Oh yeah, we forgot, this is the state we’re talking about. Maybe we should hire some more state employees to figure out what we did wrong to have such a DISASTER.

  • Harry Ballsac

    CT State government, now THERE is a disaster

blog comments powered by Disqus
Set Your Picks For Pro Football Challenge
Get The All New CBS Local App

Listen Live