(CBS Connecticut) — The National Champion University of Connecticut women’s basketball team is the preseason choice of conference coaches to top the American Athetic Conference, with 100 points.  Huskies forward Breanna Stewart is the preseason player of the year.

UConn freshman guard Kia Nurse was chosen preseason freshman of the year,   and Kaleena Mosqueda Lewis and Moriah Jefferson were named,  along with Stewart,  to the preseason all-conference first team.  Kiah Stokes was chosen for the all-conference second team.

Preseason Player of the Year
Breanna Stewart, UConn, Jr., F

Preseason Freshman of the Year
Kia Nurse, UConn, Fr., G

Preseason All-Conference First Team
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, UConn, Jr., F
Breanna Stewart, UConn, Jr., F., G
Courtney Williams, USF, Jr., G
Moriah Jefferson, UConn, Jr., G
Ariel Hearn, Memphis, Jr., G

Preseason All-Conference Second Team
Kiah Stokes, UConn, Sr., C
Jada Payne, East Carolina, R-Jr., G
Alisia Jenkins, USF, Jr., F
Alyesha Lovett, Cincinnati, Sr., G
Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, So., G


By DOUG FEINBERG,  AP Basketball Writer
NEW YORK (AP) _ Geno Auriemma and his UConn Huskies are used to being picked to win.

It’s no surprise with three starters returning, including AP Player of the Year Breanna Stewart, that the team was the unanimous choice to win the American Athletic Conference again. In the past 20 seasons since UConn started winning championships, the Huskies haven’t been picked as champs only a few times.

The Huskies received 10 first-place votes Thursday, with South Florida picking up the other when the preseason poll was released by the conference. Coaches aren’t allowed to vote for their own teams.

Stewart was chosen as the preseason player of the year and UConn freshman Kia Nurse was selected the league’s preseason rookie of the year.
“It’s nice and reminds you of things you want to work at to live up to those expectations during the season,” said Stewart, who was the inaugural conference player of the year last season.

Stewart was joined on the conference preseason first team by teammates Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Moriah Jefferson. Courtney Williams of South Florida and Ariel Hearn of Memphis also earned first team honors.

South Florida was picked to finish second in the conference followed by East Carolina, Temple, Tulane, Memphis, SMU, Cincinnati, Tulsa, UCF and Houston.

“Everyone wants to try and beat UConn,” said South Florida coach Jose Fernandez. “It’s a goal every year. We’ve beaten Notre Dame and Louisville in the past. But we’ve never gotten them yet.”

Tulane, Tulsa and East Carolina are newcomers to the American this season with the departure of Louisville and Rutgers.


Follow Doug on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/dougfeinberg

(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s