CHICAGO (AP) — Twenty-four people from a wide range of fields have been awarded $625,000, no-strings-attached fellowships from the Chicago-based MacArthur Foundation, the organization announced Wednesday. The so-called “genius grants” are awarded annually to people who have shown extraordinary talent and creativity.

The 2017 fellows are:

Njideka Akunyili Crosby, painter, Los Angeles.

Sunil Amrith, historian, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Greg Asbed, human rights strategist, Immokalee, Fla.

Annie Baker, playwright, New York.

Regina Barzilay, computer scientist, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Dawoud Bey, photographer and educator, Chicago.

Emmanuel Candès, mathematician and statistician, Stanford, Calif.

Jason De León, anthropologist, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Rhiannon Giddens, singer and songwriter, Greensboro, N.C.

Nikole Hannah-Jones, journalist, New York.

Cristina Jiménez Moreta, social justice organizer, Washington, D.C.

Taylor Mac, theater artist, New York.

Rami Nashashibi, community leader, Chicago.

Viet Thanh Nguyen, fiction writer and cultural critic, Los Angeles.

Kate Orff, landscape architect, New York.

Trevor Paglen, artist and geographer, Berlin.

Betsy Levy Paluck, psychologist, Princeton, New Jersey.

Derek Peterson, historian, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Damon Rich, designer and urban planner, Newark, New Jersey.

Stefan Savage, computer scientist, La Jolla, California.

Yuval Sharon, opera director/producer, Los Angeles.

Tyshawn Sorey, composer and musician, Middletown, Connecticut.

Gabriel Victora, immunologist, New York.

Jesmyn Ward, fiction writer, New Orleans.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Connecticut

Sign Up Today!
Celebrate Black History Month
Ski Card

Listen Live