(CBS Connecticut) – If your vehicle is sporting one of the blue-on-white-lettering license plates which Connecticut stopped issuing last century, beware, it’s technically illegal.
It’s been 16 years since the state began phasing out the old plates, but you still spot them from time to time on the highway. Using one of the old plates could result in a $90 fine from police, plus court costs.
Connecticut replaced the plates with new gradient-blue plates which are 700 percent as reflective, and therefore safer, say officials.
Old license plates can be turned in at any Connecticut DMV office with no questions asked.