(CBS Connecticut) –– As of July 1, the American Athletic Conference has expanded.  Commissioner Mike Aresco issued a statement welcoming East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa as new conference members.  Rutgers and Louisville have departed the conference  —  the Scarlet Knights to the Big Ten,  the Cardinals to the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Aresco says with the three additions,  the AAC has almost reached its planned makeup; Navy will join as a football-only member in one year.

Aresco says the new schools “will bring energy, strong athletic programs and academic quality to our distinguished conference.”

The current AAC makeup consists of UConn, UCF, Cincinnati, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live