HARTFORD (CBS Connecticut) –– Governor Malloy has signed an executive order creating what will be known as the “Common Core Implementation Task Force,” made up of parents and teachers and administrators.

The group will be  made up of two parents, two local school board representatives,  twelve teachers, four principals, four superintendents or district curriculum leaders and the chief academic officer of the state Department of Education.

Creating the task force,  the governor says preparations for incorporation of the new standards have been uneven across the state, and he’s asking the members to find the problems and make recommendations by the end of June — in time for next school year.

Members will include:

Twelve practicing teachers or education professionals who teach in elementary, middle or high school:
o    Erin Wilson, Elementary School Teacher, Hartford, Teacher of the Year Finalist [Co-Chair]
o    Juanita Harris, Special Education Teacher, Danbury
o    Andrea Middlebrooks, Life Sciences Middle School Teacher, Cromwell
o    Ken Daly, English and Language Arts High School Teacher, Wallingford
o    Bruce Yarnell, Special Education Middle School Teacher, Stonington
o    William McKinney, High School Teacher, New Haven
o    Patti Fusco, Elementary School Teacher, West Haven
o    Susan Schmidt, Elementary School Teacher, New Britain
o    Diana Burns, Elementary School Teacher, Westbrook
o    Sue Loud, Department Head for English & Social Studies, Eli Whitney Technical High School, Hamden
o    Barbara Johnson, Librarian/Elementary School, Colchester
o    Waiting for confirmation from member

·    Four principals from either an elementary, middle or high school:
o    Dr. Anne Jellison, Principal, Meriden
o    Anthony Ditrio, Principal, Norwalk
o    Vicki Reed, K-2 Principal, Wallingford
o    Edith Johnson, High School Principal, New Haven

·    Four superintendents or district curriculum leaders:
o    Nate Quesnel, Superintendent, East Hartford [Co-Chair]
o    Paula Talty, Superintendent, Cromwell
o    Sean McKenna, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, Groton
o    Ivelise Velazquez, Director of Reading & Social Sciences, Windham

·    Two parents:
o    Candy Yeager, Stamford parent
o    Waiting for confirmation from member

·    Two members of local boards of education:
o    Don Harris, Chairman, Bloomfield Board of Education
o    Liz Brown, Waterbury Board of Education

·    The Chief Academic Officer of the State Department of Education:
o    Dianna Roberge-Wentzell, Chief Academic Officer, State Department of Education


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Connecticut

Watch CBSN Live
CBS Entertainment

Listen Live