UConn Places 15 Players On The American Athletic Conference All-Academic Team

15 UConn players were honored for their achievements off the field and in the classroom. The American Athletic Conference unveiled the 2013 Football All-Academic squad late on Tuesday.

In order to receive this prestigious honor, the All-Academic selections must have earned a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 through the Fall 2013 academic term and completed a minimum of two consecutive semesters, or three consecutive quarters of academic work, with a total of 18 semester or 27 quarter credits, not including remedial courses.

The 15 Huskies to earn the All-Academic nod include (with 2013 class): redshirt-senior tackle Jimmy Bennett (Alexandria, Va.), redshirt-freshman center Kyle Bockeloh (Houston, Texas), redshirt-sophomore safety Jeremy Claflin (West Hartford, Conn.), redshirt-freshman quarterback Casey Cochran (Monroe, Conn.), redshirt-senior guard Steve Greene (Ebensburg, Pa.), redshirt-junior cornerback Byron Jones (New Britain, Conn.), redshirt-freshman defensive lineman Andreas Knappe (Silkeborg, Denmark), redshirt freshman cornerback Ellis Marder (Windermere, Fla.), redshirt freshman defensive lineman Sean Marinan (Higganum, Conn.), redshirt-junior quarterback Scott McCummings (Natick, Mass.), redshirt-freshman safety Obi Melifonwu (South Grafton, Mass.), redshirt-junior long snapper Adam Mueller (Park Ridge, Ill.), redshirt-freshman guard Zach Rugg (Windber, Pa.), sophomore wide receiver Tony Tully (East Sandwich, Mass.), and redshirt-freshman punter Justin Wain (Wilmington, N.C.)

(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


More From CBS Connecticut

Win Red Sox Tickets All Season
Price Chopper Supermarkets Presents Retail Food Rescue Program

Listen Live