The University of Connecticut says senior point guard Bria Hartley is one of the candidates for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award.

The award,  which is based on leadership, play-making and ball-handling,  is given each year to the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

UConn’s Sue Bird won the award in 2000, 2001 and 2002,  followed by Diana Taurasi in 2003 and 2004.  Rene Montgomery was the last Husky to receive the award,  in 2009.

Others currently on this watch list are:

Kacie Cassell, University of Akron

Calli Berna, University of Arkansas

Odyssey Sims, Baylor University

Brittany  Boyd, University of California

Senee Shearer, University of Detroit Mercy

Chelsea Gray, Duke University

Jerica Coley, Florida International University

Yashira Delgado, Florida State University

Damika Martinez, Iona College

Samantha Logic, University of Iowa

Lexie Brown, University of Maryland

Valencia McFarland,  University of Mississippi

Ashley Deary, Northwestern University

Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State University

Fantasia Hilliard, Sacramento State University

Keena Mays, Southern Methodist University

Amber Orrange, Stanford University

Natasha Cloud,  Saint Joseph’s University

Jamierra Faulkner, University of Southern Mississippi

Ariel Massengale,  University of Tennessee

Jennifer Newsome, University of Tennessee at Martin

Jordan Jones, Texas A&M University

Andola Dortch, University of Toledo

Joanna Harden, Troy University

Jennifer Schlott, Utah State University

Chelsea Douglas, Wake Forest University

Rebecca Henricson, Western Illinois University

Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop University


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live