The first-ever American Athletic Conference’s All-Conference football teams include two players from the University of Connecticut Huskies and a Stratford resident  who plays for Temple.

Redshirt junior linebacker Yawin Smallwood was named to the All-Conference First Team and senior defensive tackle Shamar Stephen was named to the Second Team.

The AAC annnounced the honors Wednesday.

Also named to the First Team was Tyler Matakevich of Stratford,  who attended Milford Academy and is currently a sophomore at Temple.

UCF quarterback Blake Bortles was named the American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year and  Louisville defensive end Marcus Smith Defensive Player of the Year.

Houston return specialist Demarcus Ayers and Memphis punter Tom Hornsey were chosen as Special Teams Players of the Year.

Houston quarterback John O’Korn is Rookie of the Year.

UCF coach George O’Leary was the unanimous selection as Coach of the Year.

Deontay Greenberry,     Houston
DeVante Parker, Louisville
Eric Lefeld, Cincinnati
Jamon Brown, Louisville
Jordan McCray, UCF
Justin McCray ,     UCF
Jake Smith, Louisville
Blake Annen,  Cincinnati
Tyler Kroft , Rutgers
Blake Bortles, UCF
Storm Johnson, UCF
Paul James, Rutgers
Jake Elliott, Memphis
Ralph David Abernathy IV,     Cincinnati
Demarcus Ayers, Houston

Jordan Stepp, Cincinnati
Marcus Smith, Louisville
Martin Ifedi, Memphis
Aaron Lynch, USF
Terrance Plummer, UCF
Yawin Smallwood, UConn
Tyler Matakevich, Temple
Jacoby Glenn,  UCF
Charles Gaines, Louisville
Calvin Pryor, Louisville
Hakeem Smith, Louisville
Tom Hornsey, Memphis

Anthony McClung, Cincinnati
J.J. Worton, UCF
Jeremy Johnson, SMU
Chris Martin, UCF
DeAnthony Sims, Houston
Sam Longo, Cincinnati
John Miller , Louisville
Betim Bujari, Rutgers
Mike McFarland, USF
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
William Stanback, UCF
Marcus Shaw, USF
Shawn Moffitt, UCF
Janarion Grant, Rutgers

Silverberry Mouhon, Cincinnati
Shamar Stephen, UConn
Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville
Luke Sager, USF
Greg Blair, Cincinnati
Preston Brown,     Louisville
DeDe Lattimore, USF
Deven Drane, Cincinnati
Zach McMillian,     Houston
CB     Kenneth Acker     SMU
Clayton Geathers, UCF
Trevon Stewart,     Houston
Richie Leone, Houston


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live