East Carolina University, which had been scheduled to join the Big East as a football-only member next year,  instead will take part in all sports when it becomes a member of the conference,  which is to be re-named.

Conference Commissioner Mike Aresco say the East Carolina Pirates compete in 19 intercollegiate sports.  Besides football, it fields teams in men’s and women’s basketball,  in men’s baseball, cross country, football, golf, swimming and diving, tennis and indoor and outdoor track and field,  and women’s cross country, golf, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, indoor and outdoor track and field, and volleyball.

This year’s men’s basketball team is in the CollegeInsider.com Tournament and the women went to the women’s NIT.

East Carolina University,  with its main campus in Greenville, North Carolina,  has been a member of Conference USA.

Beginning with the 2014-15 academic year, the Big East,  operating under a new name,  will consist of the University of Connecticut, the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, East Carolina University, the University of Houston, the University of Memphis, Southern Methodist University, the University of South Florida, Temple University and Tulane University. The U.S. Naval Academy will become a football-only member in 2015.

Comments (3)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live