Fines To Be Discussed Over Cell Phone Ban Violations

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) _ State lawmakers are holding a public hearing on increasing the fines for violating Connecticut’s ban on using hand-held cell phones while driving.

The Transportation Committee has set the hearing for 10 a.m. Monday in the Legislative Office Building in Hartford.

The proposed bill would double the fines for talking on cell phones without hands-free devices, texting and other cell phone use while driving.

The current fines are $100 for a first violation, $150 for a second violation and $200 for subsequent violations. Some lawmakers want to increase the penalties to $200 for a first violation, $300 for a second violation and $500 for subsequent violations.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Connecticut

Ski Card
WTIC Holiday Stores 2016

Listen Live