President Issues Disaster Declaration For State

President Obama has declared a major disaster  in the State of Connecticut for the area affected by the October nor’easter.

He ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts,  including making funds available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storm in Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, Tolland, and Windham Counties,  and for what’s termed “hazard mitigation” statewide,  including the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan Tribal lands.

New London County is the only part of the state not covered by the declaration. (Read the FEMA Fact Sheet)


More From CBS Connecticut

Win Red Sox Tickets All Season
Price Chopper Supermarkets Presents Retail Food Rescue Program

Listen Live