NEW YORK (AP) _ Phoenix’s Diana Taurasi, Seattle’s Sue Bird and
Indiana’s Tamika Catchings were voted as starters for the WNBA
All-Star game again.

Catchings, who led all players with 32,706 votes, was joined by
Fever teammate Katie Douglas, Atlanta’s Angel McCoughtry,
Connecticut’s Tina Charles and New York’s Cappie Pondexter as
Eastern Conference starters announced Thursday night.

Minnesota rookie Maya Moore, the Storm’s Swin Cash and injured
Los Angeles center Candace Parker joined Taurasi and Bird– second
overall with 25,077– as starters for the West.

The All-Star game is July 23 in San Antonio.
Moore, with 21,379 votes, became the first rookie voted to start
since Bird and Catchings in 2002.
“Any time the fans take the effort to reach out to show that
they want to see you play and appreciate your game, it always feels
great,” Moore said. “Especially being a rookie and new to the

There was no game in 2008, when Parker was the league MVP and
Rookie of the Year. The U.S. national team played a team of
remaining All-Stars in 2004 –when Taurasi went on to earn Rookie
of the Year honors– and last season, when Charles won the award.
Catchings (2002-03, ’05-07, ’09, ’11), Bird (’02-03, ’05-07,
’09, 11) and Taurasi (’05-07, ’09, ’11) have been selected as
starters in every All-Star game that has taken place since they
have been in the league.

All-Star reserves will be announced on Tuesday.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live