Programming Note: Listen to the first Presidential debate Monday night 9-11pm on WTIC NewsTalk 1080 and wtic.com.

Talk + Txt + Drive = No License

A bill that would impose tougher penalties for texting or using a hand-held mobile phone while driving has passed a key legislative committee.

The Judiciary Committee voted 23-20 on Thursday to approve the measure, which allows police officers to seize a repeat offender’s driver’s license for 24 hours, as they can in alcohol-related cases.

New Canaan Rep. John Hetherington wanted to require an officer to seize the license, but that part of the bill was amended to give police the discretion. Some lawmakers said the original requirement gave police too much power.

The bill, which also increases the penalty for repeat violators of the ban from $150 to $500, moves to the House of Representatives.

Connecticut first banned the use of hand-held cell phones while driving in 2005.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Connecticut

Win Red Sox Tickets All Season
The Latest UConn News

Listen Live