LOS ANGELES (AP) – The University of Connecticut’s Maya Moore has won the John R. Wooden Award as women’s college basketball player of the year, becoming the third player to win it twice.

The senior forward and four-time All-American ended her career as the Huskies’ career scoring leader with 3,036 points, and ranked second in 3-pointers made and rebounds. Moore averaged 22.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.3 steals and 4.0 assists this season.

She led the UConn to four consecutive Final Fours and two national titles, including their record 90-game winning streak that spanned three seasons.

Moore joined LSU’s Seimone Augustus and Candace Parker of Tennessee as the only two-time winners of the award named for the late UCLA coaching great.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Connecticut

Watch CBSN Live
CBS Entertainment

Listen Live